First Monday Book Group

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

If interested in participating in our book discussion group, please contact Librarian Augie Webb at 415-289-4121, x501 or awebb@sausalito.gov

reading

1st Monday Book Group

1st Mondays, 2:30pm
Next: September 1o, 2018 Conference Room
Note change of date for Labor Day holiday!

(main floor of City Hall)

What we're reading:
This Must Be the Place
Maggie O'Farrell

From Amazon:

An irresistible love story, an unforgettable family. Bestselling author Maggie O’Farrell captures an extraordinary marriage with insight and laugh-out-loud humor in what Richard Russo calls “her breakout book.” Perfect for readers of Where’d You Go, Bernadette.
 
Daniel Sullivan leads a complicated life. A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn, and his wife, Claudette, is a reclusive ex–film star given to pulling a gun on anyone who ventures up their driveway. Together, they have made an idyllic life in the country, but a secret from Daniel’s past threatens to destroy their meticulously constructed and fiercely protected home. Shot through with humor and wisdom, This Must Be the Place is an irresistible love story that crisscrosses continents and time zones as it captures an extraordinary marriage, and an unforgettable family, with wit and deep affection.

Past novels have included:

This Must Be the Place, Maggie O'Farrell
Never Let Me Go
, Kazuo Ishiguro
Mrs. Dalloway
, Virginia Woolf
The Submission
, Amy Waldman
Taft
, Ann Patchett
Goodbye, Columbus
, Philip Roth
The Hours
, Michael Cunningham
The Noise of Time
, Julian Barnes
How Proust can Change Your Life
, Alain de Botton
A Piece of the World
, Christina Baker Kline
The Enchanted April
, Elizabeth Von Arnim
Mothering Sunday
, Graham Swift
The Awakening
, Kate Chopin
Little Paris Bookshop,
Nina George
84, Charing Cross Road, Helene Hanff
The Art of Racing in the Rain, Garth Stein
A Moveable Feast, Ernest Hemingway
Divisadero, Michael Ondaatje
Joe Jones, Anne Lamott
The Handmaid's Tale, Margaret Atwood
Amsterdam, Ian McEwan
To the Lighthouse, Virginia Woolf
Old Filth, Jane Gardam
A Tale for the Time Being, Ruth Ozeki
A Room with a View, E.M. Forster
Family Life, Akhil Sharma
Master and Commander, Patrick O'Brian
My Antonia, Willa Cather
Revolutionary Road, Richard Yates
Look Who's Back, Timur Vermes
Our Souls at Night, Kent Haruf
The Sense of an Ending, Julian Barnes
Close to Home, Peter Robinson
The Bone People, Keri Hulme
The Sheltering Sky, Paul Bowles
Stoner, John Williams
Becoming Jane Eyre, Sheila Kohler
Shadow Tag, Louise Erdrich
The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald
Let the Great World Spin, Colum McCann
Miss New India, Bharati Mukherjee
Lila, Marilynne Robinson
Offshore, Penelope Fitzgerald
White Dog Fell From the Sky, Eleanor Morse
Embers, Sandor Marai
The Whistling Season, Ivan Doig
All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
An Unnecessary Woman, Rabih Alameddine
Franny & Zooey
, J.D. Salinger
Orphan Master's Son
, Adam Johnson
The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet, Reif Larsen
The Sound of Things Falling, Juan Gabriel Vasquez
Identity, Milan Kundera
Surfacing, Margaret Atwood
The Sea-Wolf, Jack London
The All of It, Jeannette Haien
A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, Anthony Marra
The Space Between Us, Thrity Umrigar
Fools, Joan Silber
Remarkable Creatures, Tracy Chevalier
The Son, Phillip Meyer
We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves, Karen Joy Fowler
The Reader, Bernard Schink
The Day of the Locust, Nathaneal West
A Woman in Jerusalem, A.B. Yehoshua
Mrs. Bridge, Evan S. Connell
The Weight of Water, Anita Shreve
Regeneration, Pat Barker
The Stranger, Albert Camus
The Statement, Brian Moore
Hunger, Elise Blackwell
To Siberia, Per Petterson
The Lonely Passion of Judith Hearne, Brian Moore
July's People, Nadine Gordimer
An Artist of the Floating World, Kazuo Ishiguro
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Mark Haddon
Music of a Life, Andrei Makine
Comedy in a Minor Key, Hans Keilson
Being Dead, Jim Crace
Out Stealing Horses, Per Petterson
The Lover, Marguerite Duras
Samurai's Garden, Gail Tsukiyama
Ignorance, Milan Kundera
Crow Lake,  Mary Lawson
Disgrace, J.M. Coetzee
Music of a Life, Andrei Makine